Dear Enemy by Kristen Callihan

I feel like it needs to be said that I was almost consistently hungry while reading this book 😂 The female MC being a chef made it so that there were a lot of food descriptions all the time and I’m not complaining one bit. It was probably one of my favourite things, actually 🙊 I don’t think I consciously realised it until I finished the book, but I love how clearly passionate Delilah (the female MC) was about cooking. You could feel her passion in the way that all the food was described. We need more chefs as main characters in books!

On that same note, I liked the main characters in this book. Their personalities fit the story perfectly and they had good chemistry from the moment their names were on the same page of the book. Although the Male MC’s name was a bit weird and hard for me to wrap my head around? 😂 (His name was Macon—it rhymes with bacon) Like, I can’t tell you guys how many times I had to stop and correctly pronounce it in my head 😂 BUT I MADE THE EFFORT, because I liked him.

Speaking of people I liked, I WANT ANOTHER BOOK FOR NORTH. North was one of the secondary characters and I loved him. I constantly found myself wondering what his story would be. He definitely has one, that’s for sure. Now it’s just a matter of wondering if the author will write it! (I hope she does, because I would read it)

The story went by pretty fast and I read this book rather quickly—which is awesome because I don’t like it when it drags out. It was a really simple story and I liked the chemistry between the characters, even though it felt a bit quick at times (it’s still definitely a slow-burn romance!). The relationship had good substance and any problems I did have with it were solved by the end of the book. (I’m picky about enemies-to-lovers because it needs to be well-done and this one was here and there but the ending didn’t break it for me.)

Overall though, I have to admit that I’m a bit disappointed with this book. The plot had so much potential and I felt like it was solved way too easily when there could’ve been a lot more conflict to keep the story interesting. The romance was a good conflict, but it didn’t feel like enough to hold this story up. Had they made the introduced plot something bigger, this story could’ve been a lot more interesting. But the author’s decision to make it a background thing really lowered my interest in the story, unfortunately.

Leave a comment